jump to navigation

Oriental Lady Red April 17, 2009

Posted by totallythreadup in Uncategorized.
Tags:
trackback

Although I like this design I am not enjoying stitching this at all. There are so many fractional stitches with some being two threads and others three and also some having to be stitched in the wrong direction it justs looks a bit of a mess to me.

Its being stitched on 16 count aida which doesn’t help with the fractional stitches so I am contemplating starting again using evenweave which I think will make it easier to stitch. I am going to Polstitches with Sandra next week so will show her what I have done together with the pattern to make sure I’m stitching it correctly. I think I will have a look for an alternative fabric then decide what to do. It does seem a shame to abandon it but I’ve not done too much I know this will just become another unfinished project. Here is what I’ve done so far.

olr-april1

Comments»

1. claire93 - April 21, 2009

I know the feeling Sheila, also began a design on aida that should have been done on linen due to fractional stitches and it finally became a UFO half way – so my advice (for what it’s worth) would be to start again on evenweave. While you HAVE already put in a lot of hours stitching on this project, it’s nothing compared to the hours still to do and it would be a real shame not to see this hanging on your wall.

2. totallythreadup - April 21, 2009

I think you are right Clare. What I have done so far didn’t take too long as most was blocks of colours but I am not enjoying it to it has to go. I am going to pick some fabric when I go “shopping” with Sandra 🙂

3. Mylene - April 22, 2009

Hi Sheila, i agree with what Clare had said, but probably because i don’t like stitching on 16ct aida, i prefer 14ct aida otherwise smaller counts on linen or evenweave.

Thanks for stopping by at my blog. I really appreciate. I do feel pain all over after running for two days, so i didn’t go today. Hope to do a bit tomorrow as i know my body have to get use to it and the it will be fine…i hope!

Hope you are having a good week.


Leave a Reply

