jump to navigation

Almost the end of another year! December 26, 2009

Posted by totallythreadup in Uncategorized.
Tags:
trackback

As we come to the end of 2009 I thought I’d better get one last post in before it’s too late. I’m full of good intentions but I find the weeks just roll by and I’ve missed yet another week – especially with my SAL postings.

I have been managing to get some stitching done and have concentrating my Queen Lily as I really can’t wait to get this finished. I’m stitching at every opportunity I get and here is how it looks today.

Next year I promise to do much much better – I’m sure all I need is an i-phone 😉 Ian was going to get me one for Christmas but unfortunately just over two weeks ago he was hit by a car and suffered severe bruising and damage to his right thigh and base of his back. He was directing traffic and saw a car in the distance. He looked in the opposite direction to see if the road was clear and as he turned back he heard the sound of the car braking and next thing he saw was the windscreen. All he remembers is lying on the ground screaming in pain but has since been told that he was hit by the car, went over the bonnet and was thrown into the air and landed about 8ft away from where he was standing. Luckily he had stepped forward into the middle of the road to check on any oncoming traffic and if he hadn’t had done this he has been told that he would have lost both his legs or even worse his life.The driver of the car ended up being embedded into the back of a HGV lorry, wrote of his car and got out without a scratch!

At the moment Ian can hobble around the house using a walking stick but is in a lot of pain especially during the night. He is not used to sitting down doing nothing but at the moment has no choice. He can’t even manage to get into a car so this year all our Christmas plans have been cancelled and I think it will be quite a while before he is up and about and able to go back to work.

I hope you all had a wonderfuly Christmas and I wish you a Happy New Year for 2010.

Comments»

1. jane - December 30, 2009

What a dreadful thing to happen just before Christmas – I hope he makes a full recovery soon.
BTW Queen Lily is looking great – I can understand why you want to get her finished

2. claire93 - December 31, 2009

I do hope Ian makes a full recovery !

3. Karan (milfurnace) - January 7, 2010

What an awful thing to have happen. I hope he recovers well, without any after effects.
QL is looking good – great progress. :0)


Leave a Reply

