jump to navigation

Stitching Progress for 2010 January 18, 2010

Posted by totallythreadup in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

As a result of Ian’s accident we had a very quiet Christmas and New Year as we were unable to do a great deal or go anywhere but it did mean that I have managed to get quite a bit of stitching done. I’m glad to say that Ian is now well on the mend and last week he actually managed to take one of the dogs for a short walk and he drove himself to physio today. He is trying his hardest to get himself back to normal and now that he is starting to recover from his injuries he is getting stronger and fitter every day. We will have to make the most of his time off work and get a few days out sorted. I’m already planning a trip to a shop called The Nimble Thimble Nr Oswestry which I’ve been told has a good selection of cross stitch goodies and also pay another visit to Jo at Polstitches buy some stash for my planned new starts. A time back home is also planned and hopefully we will be able to spend a few days there rather than a fleeting visit.

I have quite a lot of pics to show and I’ll start off with CDT.
I’m almost there on this one and once I pick it up again I’m going to go flat out for a finish.

As you can see Alfie managed to get his head in the pic (luckily this was before his little adventure ) – I think he’s checking for mistakes. Once this is finished I’m going to start The Bramble and the Rose as a SAL with Ink Circle Stitchers. I know a lot of people are interested in starting this design and it would be great if we could all start around the same time – say early March – and maybe post our progress on this blog. If you know of anyone wanting to join in please mention this in your blog as the more the merrier. I’m going to put a post on the Ink Circle blog so see if this will generate any more interest. My biggest problem is that I can’t decide on a fabric or thread. I’d love to stitch this as I think it is stunning but don’t think my eyesight will allow. I have a sample of black fabric so I may have a tryout to see how I get on.

My Wednesday SAL of Celtic Welcome with Sandra sort of came to a stop before Christmas but we have both restarted and are aiming for a finish on 1st March – St David’s Day. I am finding the white dragon ( Sandra has called her’s Gwyn but I am leaving mine unnamed) much quicker to stitch than my red dragon (Cedric). I took this pic last week and I’ve done quite a lot more since then which I will post next week. I think it is the back stitch which will take the time so I want to get the dragons completed ASAP to leave myself plenty of time to get this finished by the 1s March deadline.

Towards the end of 2009 I concentrated on Queen Lily and although I haven’t stitched on her yet this year I was really pleased with the progress I made. Once I pick this up again I will work on her for a few weeks at a time. Not a very good picture as it was taken at an angle but this is how she’s looking. I’ve already got my next HAED QS lined up.

And finally my restart of HAED Cats which I started on 1st January. I have changed my fabric to white 14 count cashel linen as I just couldn’t stitch on 25 count. This is the same fabric I am using for my CDT and it is lovely to work with although the size of my fabric is about 27″ x 40″ so it’s massive. I’m making good progress here and have completed 3000 stitches and picture is already starting to show albeit a tiny proportion of the chart – There are 99,900 stitches in total.

/*

I will soon be a year since I started stitching so within the next few months I should be doing quite a few Happy Dances -this can only mean lots of new starts for 2010 and who knows – even regular updates on my blogs. Even though I haven’t made many comments on your blogs I do read them when I can and really appreciate the comments you leave for me, so thank you for your words of encouragement – I get quite excited that someone has taken the time to read and comment on my work.

Comments»

1. Lori - January 18, 2010

Thank you for the nice comment about my Bramble and the Rose on black. I felt the same way about stitching on black. I originally bought a piece of 28 count black jobelan, because I like stitching on 28 count jobelan with one strand over one thread. But it just felt like it was going to be constant eye strain, and no fun to stitch. So I switched to 25 count black lugana, and it was really comfortable to stitch on.
Of course, I use cheap reading glasses to stitch.
I don’t need them to read, but it was a long time before I learned they were great for stitching.
Can’t wait to see what fabric and floss you choose.

2. Blu - January 18, 2010

CDT looks great! And it doesn’t look like you have much more to finish Celtic Welcome either.

3. claire93 - January 19, 2010

that’s some great progress there Sheila !!!
I’ve ordered threads & fabric for our Bramble & Rose SAL – can’t wait to get started . . . also tracking Sandra’s stash-sale on ebay lol surely you don’t need to go to xstitch shops, you could just do your shopping at her house ^^

4. Karan (milfurnace) - January 19, 2010

Glad your OH is recovering well. I’ll be glad for your CdeT HD but will miss it on the IC blog. Love those dragons & look forward to seeing all your WIP’s develop & those HD’s. :0)
Trying desperately hard NOT to join in with the Bramble SAL as I’ve got plenty of BAP’s to keep me going for now but will give it a mention on my blog. :0)

5. jane - January 20, 2010

I am thinking about joining in the Bramble and Rose SAL but need inspiration…lol Just don’t know what threads to choose. CdesT is coming on well – at this rate you will finish before me. If we ever get any daylight I will put up a pic on my blog – far too gloomy for photography at the moment!


Leave a Reply

