jump to navigation

Cedric and some new stash January 25, 2010

Posted by totallythreadup in Uncategorized.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Last Tuesday I paid a visit to The Nimble Thimble Nr Oswetry, Shropshire for a look around and managed, as you do, to buy a few bits and pieces whilst I was there. Because of the recent bad weather it was the first day the shop had opened and there was still some snow on the ground where they are situated so I was lucky that I hadn’t gone there the week before as I had originally intended. As well as having a good selection of all things cross stitch they make and frame pictures. I have taken a few pics of my purchases but unfortunately they have not come out very well and the colours are much nicer in real life. The fabrics have been placed on some white sparkly fabric which I bought and am possibly going to use for my next QS HAED design once I have finished Queen Lily although I still haven’t picked her up this year.

They fabrics are all linen but I am going to have to ring the shop to find out the exact type as I forgot to make a note. Amongst other things I bought myself a really jazzy pair of reading glasses to see if I can stitch and still keep in my contact lenses. I also bought yet another scissors – I seem to be collecting these 🙂

The blue offcut is 28 ct Wichelt linen in Monet Blue and is a lovely colour. The threads are Needle Necessities 116 (now Threadworx 1025 navy blue)

The next piece is 32 count lilac and the threads are Needle Necessities 195 (Threadworx grape shades 1158) and Weeks Dye Works 1311 Taffetta. This is the fabric and threads I am thinking of using for my Bramble and the Rose SAL which we are starting on 1st March. Take a look at Ink Circles Stitchers if you are interested in joining in.

My next piece of fabric is what I think is a lovely shade of green and is 28 count but it has been really difficult to show. The threads, courtesy of Sandra, are Needle Necessities 151 (Threadworx Black Forest 1084). This is my other choice for Bramble and the Rose and even though these are the colours I originally had in mind I’m really undecided as I’m not a “green” person but I do like these colours. I think I will stitch a little of each just to see how they look and then make my decision, unless I find something else in the meantime. I’m planning a visit to Sandra’s Stash Shop in the next week or so so anything is possible lol. I’m also undecided as to whether to use one colour or whether to stitch the flowers in a different shade.

<

I bought Weeks Dye Works thread 2219 whiskey which I have shown in an odd piece of black fabric as I will be starting a small SAL with Sandra using these colours. We’ve yet to pick out a design but this combination looks absolutely stunning when stitched up – take a look here – it’s gorgeous.

And finally some stitching! Here is my update of “Cedric” which I took last week but I managed to get some stitching in over the weekend and have totally finished the white dragon. I hope to finish the flowers and maybe get some back stitching in later this evening. There’s only 5 weeks left to our deadline so I have to concentrate on this piece all next week. After speaking to Sandra today I think we are more or less at the same stage.

And lastly my CDT – not much to do on this and I can’t wait to finish it.

Alfie didn’t manage to get his head in this pic – here he is fast asleep on my bed and still as dirty as ever.

I get him cleaned up but he just keeps coming back covered in ash. Boys will be boys !!!!

Comments»

1. claire93 - January 25, 2010

wish I could have come with you to The Nimble Thimble ^^
great choice of fabrics and threads – I love the grape colour but I also love Black Forest (looked at that myself too for Bramble & Rose). Am really impatient to see which colour you decide to use !
Well done on your dragons – just seen Sandra’s and the two of you are definitely going to be dancing before March 1st !!!
As for Alfie ^^ he obviously doesn’t want to be white anymore

2. jane - January 25, 2010

Looks like a great stash haul Sheila. I went to the Nimble thimble last year but unfortunately the lady was at the dentist and we didn’t have time to wait. I still got some charts but the gentleman looking after the shop obviously couldn’t sell us fabric which was a shame but good for my bank balance..lol
I really like the idea of the lilac linen… I have that in my stash.. that WDW thread is very pretty…. a plan is forming in my mind!! I have decided that you are a terrible enabler ..even worse than your sister who always makes me want to rush off and start whatever she is stitching …and I often do!

3. Blu - January 25, 2010

Nice stash haul! Great progress on the dragons.

4. Karan (milfurnace) - February 3, 2010

VERY nice stash haul. Love the first set of colours for Bramble, though it would look fab stitched in either choices – looking forward to seeing everyone’s starts on this. CdeT is growing fast too. :0)
Alfie obviously likes his new look. LOL


Leave a Reply

