jump to navigation

Sew….here I am again February 23, 2011

Posted by totallythreadup in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

After finally finding my stitching mojo I have been plodding along with my projects and am now back stiitching with a vengeance. I had fully intended to start blogging regulary in 2011 but this plan went haywire due to lack of Internet connection. This has now been remedied (fingers crossed) by changing ISP providers so at least my post has a lot to show.

My first Happy Dance is Lale a free design by Pelin Tezer which was a SAL with Sandra. It was my first time stitching on black fabric and although I like the end result I struggled to stitch this so if I use black fabric again it will be for something minute. Not a very good pic – it looks much nicer.

Stitched on 32 count black Belfast linen using Weeks Dye Works shade Whiskey

Next is a huge Happy Dance with my bramble and the rose. This was started on 1st March last year as a SAL which seemed to have slowly fizzled out – has anyone else who joined the Sal finished? I was determined to get this finished before starting something new and having chosen Ink Circles Masquerade as my next design I went all out to complete it before my chart and threads arrived. Last week I had a few days off work thanks to a heavy cold and bad chest and did nothing but stitch for a whole day. Here is my finish

A close up

Stitched on 28 count linen using Threadworx Blackforest 1084

Unknown to me Sandra had already purchased Masquerde and we have decided to have another SAL on Sunday evenings. I was too impatient to wait for fabric to arrive so I am using 28 count Silver Lining hand dyed linen by Polstitches. Here is my first Sunday evening progress pic

I’m also hoping to buy the frame which is shown on the chart as I think it goes perfectly with this design and is quite unique. Blu has just finished stitching Masquerade – take a quick look at her finish.

In January I joined a great new forum called Needlecraft Haven – it is a really friendly place with many varied topics – there’s something for everyone – I’ve already gained a lot by being a member. I participated in the January Challenge which was to stitch and finish a design called Petit Chat by Tra La La. I used sparkly white fabric – 28 count and Threadworx navy blue (1025) replacing the single stitches with pearl beads. I think it’s really pretty. My finish was a small cushion as this is the only thing I can make but I’m hoping to learn more ways of finishing during 2011. Here are the pics of the front and back of my cushion

One of my WIPS HAED QS Red Witch has now become the largest of my projects. I’ve not worked on this in months but here are my before and after pics to show where I am at now.

This year I decided that I was going to stitch some smaller designs and am starting by making christmas ornaments. I have made a reindeer from the Prairie Schooler Snowy Nights chart, there are nine designs in total which I hope to finish the Prairie Schooler way.

I have stitched another christmas design but when I took the photo I realised I had missed out the french knots for the eyes and nose so I’ll post that within the next few days.

I think the reason I don’t post very often is because of the time it takes me to do it – I must get more organised. I’ll make my next post short and simple! I didn’t think I had done very much stitching but looking back I’ve done quite lot – I’m really surprised. As I’m stitching one thing I’m already planning what I’m going to do next – there are quite a few charts which I am about to order – that’s what happens when you read other peoples blogs – so much lovely stitching being done by everyone.

Comments»

1. claire93 - February 23, 2011

You may have been a bit slack wth blogging but you haven’t been slack with stitching ^^ Well done on some beautiful finishes. B&R looks great and makes me ashamed mine isn’t finished (by the way, out of the 7 or 8 people in our SAL, I think 3 have now finished – you and 2 ladies in Devon).

2. jane - February 23, 2011

It’s great to see you back blogging Sheila. You have been doing lots of lovely work. Congratulations on completeing B&R, I am another backslider but I do intend to finish it, hopefully this year. I like your PS design, look forward to seeing more of them.

3. Blu - February 23, 2011

Gorgeous finishes! The Pelin Tezer looks amazing and so does Bramble!
Have fun on Masquerade, it stitches up very fast.

4. Sandra - February 26, 2011

Brambles looks great! Cute reindeer, but where’s his skateboard lol. You’re a bit further on than me I think on Masquerade, your fabric looks good, in fact it looks very similar to the one I’m using so it’s just as well you didn’t wait

5. Karan :0) - March 18, 2011

Absolutely fabulous finishes. Bramble colour is gorgeous & the PT piece looks amazing on the black fabric. I like how you’ve finished the Challenge piece using beads, pretty colour too. I do like those PS ornies – looking forward to seeing the rest in the series & to watching RW & Masquerade devlop. :0)


Leave a Reply

