jump to navigation

Summer days April 21, 2011

Posted by totallythreadup in Uncategorized.
Tags: , ,
trackback

This week I have been starting work at 9.30 am and as a result I have had a few hours free in the afternoons to put in some stitches. Time seems to just fly by and already it is the weekend, even though I don’t work on a Monday or Friday this weekend actually feels like a holiday, maybe the fact that Ian will be home and that we have outings planned which I am looking forward to.

Part two of the In the Night SAL has been revealed – not so much to stitch this time but I like “not knowing” what is to be stitched next, it makes me feel I am participating in a group rather than just stitch along whenever where I get lazy and think “oh..next week” which often turns into months – my HAED being a prime example. Here is my update

I’ve put a few backstitches around the tail as per the chart but think it looks better without so may unpick them once I have finished the SAL.

I have actually got around to a new start, my first LHN design – Winter Whites which I am stitching on 32 count natural raw linen Zweigart – this fabric has a lovely feel to it – using a combination of threads from DMC, Gentle Art and Weeks Dye Works. Not a great deal to show but I know this is going to stitch up very quickly.

And now for something I have been itching to try for a while. It is a small design from the Gift of Stitching Magazine Issue 46 called Christmas Snowfall a design From Historic Stitches. The fabric is 28 count Wichelt although I am not sure of the shade. I originally bought this with Bramble and the Rose in mind but then decided to use the waterlily shade. The beads I bought locally so have no idea what they are.

Close up

I initially started stitching the centrepiece but was going a little off course so stitched the outline first and I was having a little HD a few hours later. I am VERY pleased with the outcome it looks so pretty. I’m not sure how I am going to finish it – all I can say it will have a tassle – something I haven’t tried making before !!

Hope you have a Happy Easter, enjoy the lovely weather and eat loads of chocolate. Tomorrow I am collecting Queen Lily from the framers I can’t wait.

Comments»

1. claire93 - April 21, 2011

lots of lovely stitching I see – I love your beaded design and can see that with a tassel hanging in the tree at Christmas lol. I’ll be doing my “In the Night” over the weekend – today has been spent making xmas ornemants and cutting out fabric for my daughter’s latest project which is a secret ^^

2. Mylene - April 28, 2011

Your beaded finish looks lovely and sure would look great into a scissor fob or any finishing you will pick for it.
Very good start on the LHN piece too.
Hope you are having a lovely week.


Leave a Reply

