jump to navigation

A new start – Alfie Cat September 11, 2011

Posted by totallythreadup in Uncategorized.
Tags:
trackback

This is going to be a companion picture for my Queen Lily and I’m labelling it Alfie Cat. The title of the chart is actually called Priscilla but I won’t tell Alfie if you won’t !!! When the central heating is on his favourite place is in the window and here he is looking rather grumpy after just waking up

then deciding to make run for it – he doesn’t like posing.


By the time this post is published Alfie will be staying in the cattery whilst we are on holiday and when he comes home this is about the only time he is actually clean for a few hours, until he goes out and finds a muddy puddle to lie in! The good thing is that he loves to be groomed so at least I can keep his fur looking presentable. He never fails to have a leaf or twig or something stuck to him as well as a smearing of dirt/oil from hiding under cars. Until I had Alfie I didn’t realise just how dirty cats can get.

The design is one of four in a booklet by Cross My Heart Inc. called Feline Elegance with designs by Sherrie Awead.


I ‘m using DMC threads and stitching on 32 count linen shade oyster. I started this back in July and did a block then put it down and only picked it up in the last couple of weeks.


I’m not sure how this will look when it’s finished but so far it’s stitching up relatively quickly. There aren’t that many colours in the design (unlike HAED) and I thought the cat would look whiter. There are a few symbols which call for two different colours to be used so it isn’t quite as “black and white” as it seems (the dark colour to the right of the mirror is 3371 chocolate)


I’m going to try and do what I did with Queen Lily and leave the facial features until last and bring it to life at the last moment just in case I don’t like how it looks and it becomes a UFO but it’s enjoyable to stitch at the moment so I think I’ll stick with it. My next plan of action is to work across the top of the chart and down the right hand side enabling me to switch from blocks of 3371(there around 2000 stitches ) to the main part of the chart. I don’t think I could cope with stitching one colour continuously!

If anyone is wondering why the sudden surge of posts – I have finally mastered the art of blogging using my iPad with the Bloggpress app. I have also bought a camera attachment which enables me to download photos from my iphone, camera or Sd card directly to the iPad so no need to download to pc. Brilliant :). Now I need to concentrate on trying to take clearer photos to give justice to my hard work as my stitching does look far better than my pics show. ( the pics in this post were taken with my phone in very poor light)

I’m already in the middle of drafting my next post…..

Comments»

1. shio - September 20, 2011

“The title of the chart is actually called Priscilla but I won’t tell Alfie if you won’t !!!”

ok ok, is a secret! XD!!


Leave a Reply

